------------------------ Blog ------------------------

Mauro Cassese in the U.S.: When Italians have much to teach

  • 15 Sep 2015
  • 0
  • News

Professor Mauro Cassese, internationally renowned heart surgeon, has spent a large chunk of his professional time – more than six months between 2011 and 2014 – in the United States where he has dedicated himself to training colleagues on the most innovative cardiac surgery techniques. Cassese has visited thirty of the most important American hospitals, carrying out proctoring (as a teacher trainer) to several hundred of his fellow surgeons.

Chief of cardiac surgery at the Casa di Cura Santa Maria hospital in Bari, Prof. Cassese has traveled far and wide to clinics, university hospitals and research centers in the U.S. conducting proctoring sessions on techniques of percutaneous aortic valve implantation (TAVI). These techniques of minimally invasive surgery allow the prosthetic implant to be positioned in the “beating heart”, without having to open the chest, by using transfemoral, transapical and transaortic approaches.

Prof. Cassese has run proctoring sessions in the following American clinics:

Fletcher Allen Health Care (Vermont – USA) http://www.fletcherallen.org/
Carolinas Medical Center (North Carolina – USA) http://www.carolinashealthcare.org/
Seton Medical Center (California – USA) http://www.seton.net/locations/smc/
St. Joseph Medical Center (Maryland – USA) http://www.stjosephtowson.com/
Memorial Hospital Jacksonville (Florida – USA) http://memorialhospitaljax.com
Geisinger Medical Center (Pennsylvania – USA) www.geisinger.org
Gundersen Health System (Wisconsin – USA) www.gundersenhealth.org
Spectrum Butterworth Hospital (Michigan – USA) http://www.spectrumhealth.org/butterworth
Toledo Hospital (Ohio – USA) www.promedica.org/toledo
Inova Fairfax Hospital (Virginia – USA) www.inova.org
Saint Francis Hospital (Indianapolis – USA) www.franciscanalliance.org/hospitals/indianapolis
Sarasota Memorial Hospital (Florida –USA) www.smh.com
Regions Hospital (Minnesota – USA) www.regionshospital.com
Southcoast Health System (Massachusetts – USA) www.southcoast.org/heart/
St. Vincent’s Medical Center (Connecticut – USA) www.stvincents.org
Mclaren Northern Michigan (Michigan –USA) http://www.mclaren.org/northernmichigan/northernmichigan.aspx
Meridian Health (New Jersey –USA) https://www.meridianhealth.com/
Spectrum Health Butterworth Hospital http://www.spectrumhealth.org/butterworth
University Community Hospital (Florida – USA) http://health.usnews.com/
Hartford Hospital (Connecticut –USA) www.harthosp.org/
OSF Saint Francis Medical Center (Illinois –USA) www.osfsaintfrancis.org/
Baptist Hospital (Texas – USA) www.baptisthealthsystem.com/
The Regional Medical Center of Acadiana (Louisiana -USA) medicalcenterofacadiana.com/
Wakemed Health & Hospitals (Carolina del Nord – USA) www.wakemed.org
Arkansas Heart Hospital (Arkansas -USA) www.arheart.com
Valley Heart & Vascular Institute (New Jersey – USA) www.valleyheartandvascular.com
University Health Care System (Georgia –USA) www.universityhealth.org/
Tallahassee Memorial healthcare (Florida –USA) https://www.tmh.org
Tampa General Hospital (Florida –USA) www.tgh.org/
Hackensack University Medical Center (New Jersey – USA) www.hackensackumc.org